Library Technology Guides

Documents, Databases, News, and Commentary

Data and Trends on Companies and Products

Tools and Resources

Library Technology Guides includes a variety of tools to explore trends related to the technology products and services implemented by libraries. Much of this data comes from libraries.org which includes data describing the current and previous technology products used by each library and implementation dates. The data in libraries should not be considered comprehensive, but provides strong representation for the major international products and for selected geographic regions.

Industry Mergers and Acquistion Infographic

http://librarytechnology.org/mergers/

This resource presents a graphical view of the mergers and acquisitions that have shaped the library technology industry from 1968 to the present.

International Perceptions Survey Reports

http://librarytechnology.org/perceptions/2015/

The annual Library Automation Perceptions Report provide evaluative ratings submitted by individuals describing their experiences with automation products in place in thier libraries. The survey results include statistical tables summarizing results and narrative comments. The reports analyze the results of the survey, presenting a variety of statistical tables based on the data collected

ILS Migration Reports

http://librarytechnology.org/products/migration.pl

This tool provides data on the previous automation systems relative to the current systems currently installed. It presents a pie chart to visually represent the patterns as well as a tabular presentation. Each slice of the pie chart and legand titles link to lists of the libraries that follow this migration pattern. The tool includes selections for the major automation systems, the year selected, and whether to count by number of libraries or by installations. A consortial implemention is an example of an installation that represents multiple library organizations.

ILS Implementations by Library Type

http://librarytechnology.org/products/type.pl

Displays a breakdown of the deployments of each library resource management system according to type of library. Includes both a pie chart and a tabular presentation. Each pie slice or table entry links to lists of the libraries represented.

ILS Implementations by Library Size Categories

http://librarytechnology.org/products/librarysize.pl

Displays a breakdown of the deployments of each library resource management system according to size categories of the libraries. Includes both a pie chart and a tabular presentation. Each pie slice or table entry links to lists of the libraries represented.

Product Distribution by State, Provence, or Country

These reports present the breakdown of ILS products implemented, both by the number of library organizations implementing each product as well as the number of facilities involved. Keep in mind that these reports rely entirely on the data coded in libraries.org. Each report generates a pie charg showing numbers an proportions of each ILS. Clicking on the name of the ILS generates a query to libraries.org lists the specific libraries.

Product Selections and De-selections by year

  • http://librarytechnology.org/products/selections.pl
  • This tool presents the number of libraries that have selected or replaced a library technology product across a range of years. The results are presented in two separate bar graphs. The scale of the selection and de-selection graphs are set consistently for an accurate visualation of the net loss or gain of a product each year.

    ILS Turnover Reports

  • http://librarytechnology.org/product/turnover.pl
  • This report counts and lists the automation systems recorded as selected or installed in any given year with a breakdown of the previous systems displaced. The reports are based on the data recorded in the libraries.org database.

    ILS Reverse Turnover Reports

  • http://librarytechnology.org/product/turnover-reverse.pl
  • This report counts and lists the automation systems replaced any given year with a breakdown of the new systems which were selected. The reports are based on the data recorded in the libraries.org database.

    Annual Sales Impact Report

    http://librarytechnology.org/guides/ils-annual-sales-report.pl

    This report extracts data from librarie.org related to the impact of selections of a given technology product in the specified year. It presents a table of the libraries or consortia that have selected the specified product in that year, and attempts to calculate the total market impact based on number of contracts, organizations included, and facilities represented. The impact also factors in collection size. This tool remains under development, but can be taken as a rough measure of the relative impact contributed by each product.

    Product Sales Statistics

    http://librarytechnology.org/products/sales-statistics.pl

    This report includes tables presenting the sales statistics reported by each vendor for the annual Library Systems Report.

    Product Installation Statistics

    http://librarytechnology.org/products/installation-statistics.pl

    This report includes tables presenting the statistics of total installations (regardless of year sold) reported by each vendor for the annual Library Systems Report.

    Comprehensive Report of data in libraries.org by Country and Type

  • http://librarytechnology.org/libraries//type
  • This report presents a table of each of the countries represented in the libraries.org database, with breakdowns by type.

    Product Deployments by Global Region

  • http://librarytechnology.org/products/regions.pl
  • This tool presents a global map illustrating the numbers of installations of a product by country.

    ILS implementation according to Carnegie Classification for Academic institutions

  • http://librarytechnology.org/libraries/carnegie
  • This resource lists the libraries associated with each of the Carnegie classification categories and the automation systems that they use.

    ILS implementation for the members of the Association of Research Libraries

  • http://librarytechnology.org/libraries/arl/ils.pl
  • This resource lists the members of the Association of Research Libraries and the automation systems each as implemented.

    Vendor Personnel Statistics

    http://librarytechnology.org/vendors/personnel/

    This resource describes the total numbers of personnel employed for each of the major library technology companies, based on statistics reported for the annual Library Systems Report published in Library Journal and American Libraries.

    Vendor Consolidation Impact

    http://librarytechnology.org/vendors/consolidation.pl

    This tool helps to asess whether there is a net loss or gain in personnel as a company consolidates relative to the incumbent organization. The table includes the total personnel employed by each incumbent company and the total personnel employed across the previously unmerged companies.

    Library Services Platform development and production Timeline

    http://librarytechnology.org/chron/libraryservicesplatforms.pl

    This chart compares the development timelines for each of the major library services platforms and when libraries began using each product.